A Twitter Autobiography: Joe Boots

May 22, 2011

IT is extremely rare that I have the ability to wake up and actually stay in bed basking in the glory of the morning. As everyone was asleep, I grabbed my ever present device and browsed a few forums that I normally visit as well as Twitter. I passed out around 10:30 last night and so I had a lot of ground to cover. One interesting thing I came across was Joe Boots (@BootPrintsCrew) late night, couldn’t sleep, Twitter autobiography.

His story, in 140 character snipits, interests me because it is a good and because of the medium. The problem is that there is no hash tag to tie all of the tweets together and so there is no easy way to re-Tweet his story. So I have reproduced it in one, easy to read blog. I use a tilda character to join two tweets where there are sentences broken by Twitters character limitation.


Started hand painting tees in 2001 perfectin the craft. Doin tees for heads up cal u kept me fed 2004 started paintin tees in @timebombshop

Painted a tee for @GhostfaceKillah and trife da god, and jadakiss (no flix no proof I know. But ask brick its the truth) this was 2005

As well as all the hood dudes and rappers around at the time @FastEddie412 was a big supporter early on. Then I got sent to Iraq

And I was there in iraq had my mum send me paints and blank tees and that’s what I did in my down time. Sent em back to @timebombshop

Hand painting shirts in a war zone. No xbox homie. @timebombshop and @FastEddie412 were getting them to the streets. When I came home I was  ~  charged up to keep this brand PRICELESS INK going. Really ill. Handpainted teeshirts. Along with a rap crew that had been going on since 02

I used my army $ to get the MPC and @Jbgbeats and big C as priceless productions was born

But I was so fucked up and fucked up all the money I had made fueling priceless recordings as well as my unquenchable thirst for booze

but the road to the riches is paved with booze and depravity. It was a 3 years filled with fast times loose women & bangin parties

Then I met a girl and she changed my thinking. Changed my spirit. And kissed my soul. She really believed in me and what I was doing it made ~ me work harder and reach further for my goals. And priceless kept driving on doing bigger &bigger shows until a freezing cold pgh night

All the fans were there from @miggs412 to the ftcs and esPFAM IN FULL EFFECT . Tbc red tape gov everyone was there. Opening for paul wall ~ At the rex theatre and that was by far the greatest thing I’ve ever been apart of. We opened and basically shut that joint down. We sold the ~ Most tickets and had that joint packed. Our home turf . On the south side of pittsburgh. We did not dissapoint. We shut it down. Anyone that ~  was there knows…PRICELESS RECORDINGS. THAT’S WHAT IT IS! . And this was the gateway to the next level for us. I could feel it

So we tore the rex down and were heading to the afterparty. It was so cold. Everyone was split up and I ended up alone. On the walk there ~ I remember getting panicky and very nervous about the party. But was pleasantly surprised when I arrived to about 50 people. 30 or so was ~ Sexy ass girls dancin all crazy errone drunk high off the stellar performance and general attitude of success in the air. Only 20 minutes in

Damn that’s a bangin ass party I thought. And then some dudes were causin commotion at the door . I go over and I recognize one dude and ~ My girls friends ma was there like yo. No problems were all homies. Me and dude I recognized go downstairs to rap about the issue.

Which was someone not wanting to pay . And it wasn’t even a big deal me and homie squashed it. & then in a split second. Everything changed.

A fight broke out and the lights went out in this little ass stairwell. Homie ran up the steps and I followed . All these people were fallin ~ Down the stairs and I grabbed someone who was fightin me and I said yo I don’t wanna fight you I caught u fallin down the steps. Jus chill ~ Ima let you go . And when I did he fell to the ground. And I had blood all over my hands. No idea what happened. I called 911

That man ended up dieing that night. Over nothing. And the person who did it is in prison and whatever time he has its not enough.

Shook the fabric of all of us that night. And anyone there. I am so sorry to have put anyone in that situation. I don’t condone senseless ~ Violence of any kind. And that was the last night priceless ever really did anything. I went into a reclusive state for a while. Stopped ~ Going out. Stopped drinking. For a while. And my thoughts and prayers are always with johns family forever.

But the whole time. I was selling tee shirts. Priceless la familia. And the classic DRINKING IRON GETTING SHITTY YEAH HOW BURGH IS THAT? & ~ More. I always knew what I wanted to do. And I’m doing it right now. And nothing in the world feels better.

Just in case anyone wasn’t sure. I’ve been building. Learning. Growing in this world for 10 plus years. Before that me and @mikemook crushed

I thank you all for all the support and patronage! This long winded story was basically a fyi to anyone that’s not sure. I have my ties ~ And you can trace back bout 15 years. I’m friends with underground legends and street kings. Don’t question whether or not I’m about this ~ is all I have ever known. Thank you all. Thanks to our biggest fans and the haters that talk about us more than our biggest fans

Oh yeah. FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS. If you don’t succeed. At least you tried and no one can take that away from you ever.

And I’m back on aim: jbpriceless haha hollar

I’d really love to read more about working in a warzone. You can follow Joe Boots on Twitter @BootPrintsCrew

http://BootPrintsCrew.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

