Jim Skelton has Comcast!

November 3, 2009

SO where are all of the naysayers? If you’re a viewer of the watch shows on ShopNBC, it’s clear that something is going on with the hosts.

As I’ve stated in previous blogs, I believe that all signs point to Jim Skelton being replaced by Tim Temple. Initially, I based this assumption on my observations, that include “>financial, conflicts of interest and liability. Mr. Skelton personally posted a response, which didn’t refute what my thoughts were, but were ambiguous enough to add more fuel to the fire. For this, I had a bunch of fucking idiots attack me who are loosely associated with Mr. Skelton through a website that he partially owns, watchgeeks.net.

I knew my hunch was right.

Mr.Skelton has stated that he has a new contract. I don’t doubt it. But I’m also knowledgable enough to understand that it doesn’t follow he’ll be appearing on TV. I think he’s gagged and this is to ease the transition back to Tim Temple. I’m not sure exactly when he’ll be transitioned of the air and on to some “special assignment” that he can’t discuss. Initially, I thought by the end of the year. But after the Internet jihad of Skelton’s JiHomos, I think that date is sometime in April of next year. The visceral, overwhelming response suggests that Skelton needs to ease his fanboys into the transition. And it’s not going to be so smooth since I appear to have blown the lid off of it.

This is where it gets interesting; as well as equal parts sad, pathetic and funny.

The blog that kicked of the hailstorm, Jim Skelton out at ShopNBC?, still gets a lot of traffic daily as people search for information on the troubled ship of trade. On November 1, 2009, I received a comment that was awaiting my approval.

“Wow, that’s rich. So you know so much that Jim will be canned by January (but luckily you gave yourself an out by saying they will stretch it out, now you can’t be wrong for at least 6 months), and your influence is so strong that because of your little blog, Tim Temple was forced to join Watch Geeks.

Wow.”

It was authored by In Cognito who didn’t even bother with a fake email address; the only identifiable information for this comment was the IP.

Research revealed that it originated from a Comcast line in Eden Prairie, Minnesota which also is the home of ShopNBC. I didn’t think much more of it – suspecting that it was the Man or an associate. I replied directly.

Hell, aren’t you proving that this thing does have legs and a reach if you’re coming back in ‘stealth’ mode, Mr. In Cognito?

That was until today.

When I clicked on the IP of that comment accidentally, I was served up with both comments that originated from this IP. I’ll give you three guesses who the second author was and the first two don’t count.

I always took you as corny but amiable, with your love for chunky jewelry, giant cuff links, garish colors and faux hipster glasses – but you’re ‘that’ guy too? I mean, you could have sent me an email and discussed this; I know you’ve been on my Abaut page a million times. Honestly, if you would have just dropped me a line and asked me to chill, I probably would have. I don’t have a horse in your race with Tim Temple. Like I said, you’re both just guys that sell shit. But this greasy behavior suggests that your jihomo juggalo’s attacking in mass was not a fluke. I’m not saying that you were the fire starter, but I don’t think it’s a stretch to infer that you had knoweledge of it.

Next time, have the sense to do your posting from a different machine, dummy.


UPDATE 1/29/2010: https://betterskills.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/shopnbc-names-multichannel-bob-ayd-as-president || Is Skelton a Dead Man Walking?

13 Responses to “Jim Skelton has Comcast!”

  1. darksider Says:

    And shopnbc keeps this guy employed for what possible reason? He is alleged to have posed as his ex-wife Kelly at Cigar Family forums. In that case the person claiming to be mrs CG (corona gorda) was defending her husband, Mr. Corona Gorda aka Jim Skelton from claims of his scamming people. Do a google search of Corona Gorda + Jim Skelton. Enjoy the reading material.

  2. Jam Master J Says:

    It is absolutely amazing that a bum who sells watches would have fans. What is this world coming to?

    I thought people quit wearing watches with the advent of cell phones.

  3. betterskills Says:

    He shouldn’t be let go for his actions outside of work; there is no middle ground amymore as employers want to own your ass outside of work like the company store days. Somewhere along the line, that mentality became acceptable, which is why there is drug testing and video cams in bathrooms. The Big Brother shit extends to the government with “DUI” checkpoints, which really are only used to intimidate the population and intrude on our lives with a denial of due process.

    No, SNBC is bleeding money and losing ground to HSN and QVC. I don’t think Temple is the answer; he’s to little to late. SNBC has managed to run off a lot of customers with too much Invicta. And they have not helped matters with Renato. Both of these manufactures have a common practice of every variation within a series to be considered a style, which means more of the same.

    But it’s not just Skelton; their troubles are across the board. They have failed to capitalize on trends.

  4. darksider Says:

    “betterskills Says:

    November 6, 2009 at 7:59 am
    He shouldn’t be let go for his actions outside of work; there is no middle ground amymore as employers want to own your ass outside of work like the company store days. Somewhere along the line, that mentality became acceptable, which is why there is drug testing and video cams in bathrooms. The Big Brother shit extends to the government with “DUI” checkpoints, which really are only used to intimidate the population and intrude on our lives with a denial of due process.

    No, SNBC is bleeding money and losing ground to HSN and QVC. I don’t think Temple is the answer; he’s to little to late. SNBC has managed to run off a lot of customers with too much Invicta. And they have not helped matters with Renato. Both of these manufactures have a common practice of every variation within a series to be considered a style, which means more of the same.

    But it’s not just Skelton; their troubles are across the board. They have failed to capitalize on trends.”

    I agree that shopnbc has become in a way, Invicta TV as well as falling further and further behind QVC and HSN. I disagree with you about actions outside of work. For a private person such as you or me, it may be a toss up. I think it depends on what you may do for a living. In the case of an on air tv personality, the conduct rule does apply. That person reflects their employer both on air and off air. You also have to look at the background of such people. Are they grifters or head cases, are they trustworthy. All of these are factors in a Public figure both on and off work.

    I disagree with drug testing unless they also test for that Jack Daniels you may have been drinking. Both effect your judgement and insurance rates. Fair is fair. DUI checkpoints I happen to agree with. They save lives. I also think they should check to see if you smoke cheap cigars like a poor quality Corona Gorda but I digress.

    Tim Temple may or may not be too little too late but he brings moxie and a alot more class to the network than the guy with the dubius past does IMHO. He does not tell jokes laced with sexual innuendo such as ” that watch will make her fertile”. Maybe someone should have stayed at Blockbuster in Virginia. I heard part of the show tonight and there was a guy from Oregon named Scott on the air. Mr Skelton than claimed his place in Oregon when he worked there had a view of Mt. Hood from one window and Mt.Saint Helen from the other. Was the rent paid there?

  5. FuzzyWabbit Says:

    Word on the street is JS will be a Watch Model on the Laylo Network. A new fresh look complete with blue lizard thing panties.


  6. […] I detected a couple of veiled swipes at everyone’s favorite dead man walking, In Cognito, er, Jim Skelton, including Tim’s knock on the cliché host practice of telling the audience to “buy one […]


  7. Ya know Skelton has a very and I mean VERY bad past on CigarFamily. I remember everything a few members did for him back in the early 2000’s and what he did to them in return. At that time there were people who would have done felonious things to him if they could have.

    Just last night Skelton said on air to a caller from Washington DC that he used to live in this area … and now that I see who he was or is makes me wonder why ShopNBC would keep him around unless they are just not aware of his history. Yes it was 9 years ago but history has ways of repeating itself.

    For a good read on what exactly Mr Skelton can be like … http://lounge.cigarfamily.com/showthread.php?t=24123

    Its just amazing how the world is so small. I remember back in the early 2000’s before all the above went down (since I am local in the DC Metro area) enjoying a cigar at a local Fire-Pit event that he was at and thinking to myself back then what a troubled young man that will end up always trying to smell like a rose while crapping on everyone who has tried to help him out along the way. I wonder if he ever did pay back the money he bilked from those in this area?


  8. Sorry but this whole CigarFamily thing made me go back and reminisce of the past and BWAMO look what I find. Even back in 1999 he had to be the center of it all.

    The more I think and remember he always was a scamnster trying to run like a big dog but never being able to catch them.

    Just also found out that on another blog/forum there is a whole list of pictures of him being his true self.

  9. betterskills Says:

    I’m of the opinion that what he did in th past should not keep him from being employed now. I realize it speaks to his character, but people can and do change, and if I were one of those people that got scammed, I would have taken it out on his ass. That is on them for leting him get away with it.

    That being said; he really has a bad attitude toward consumers that are having less than stellar experiences with ShopNBC product. Like I told him in my response to his comment on the latest blog, I really do live the looks of the Bolt. But with the ‘dumb’ consumer attitude that Invicta employees and agents seem to have; I’d never buy one. And having checked out a SAN III at Sams Club recently, the bezel is so sloppy, I’m not sure that the Bolt would be a good buy. I think I’m going to get a rado Diasta or try to track down a Zodiac Astrograph instead.


  10. I would agree but I would also beg to differ.

    His past is questionable at best. Connecting the dots and knowing now exactly who he is and knowing what he did 10+ years ago I may be looking at it all in a different way than you. How he does things and how he acts now is the same as then before the big fallout and blowout on the east coast.

    You could say that right now its the same person but different story and time. The ending will be the same. The question is when is the ending going to happen as it has already happened so many times in the past.

  11. Karma Says:

    I wonder if Jim could design a very special watch — one that would sell to a huge crowd? I imagine the “Jim Skelton” watch to be one that counts down from the day you put it on your wrist to the day he pays you back. This watch must be perpetual as the amount of money one would need to spend on batteries to keep it running for what would surely be a very, very long time, would be far too costly. In fact, this watch will keep backwards time with no motion of the user’s arm, whatsoever — this is essential due to the lack of space provided in most coffins.

  12. Kenneth Sherman Says:

    Did your mother beat you guy,s

  13. Anonymous Says:

    Really


Leave a comment